New blog and some late night thoughts

Once again Word Press has held me hostage, and forced me to stay up late perusing its blogs as if I have nothing else better to do right now (like sleep).  I’ve chosen to ignore the smarter voice in my head, that’s been advising me to close my laptop, and get my John Brown hind-parts in the bed. How could I possibly go to sleep when there is so much going on in the blogosphere to read about; such as the “untimely” death of Whitney Houston.

I cannot rest in peace tonight (no pun intended) until I put my two cents in about her “early departure.”  I mean no disrespect to this woman.  She is the creation of her Lord just like I am.  What bugs me is all the hype surrounding her death.  It never ceases to amaze me how emotional people get when a celebrity passes away.  Do celebrities have some kind of special coding built into them, so that when the Angel of Death arrives to take their soul he is immediately shooed away due to their honored status?

Yeah, I’m going to have to double check on that.

I think the way it works is:

Everyone shall taste death.  Then unto Us you shall be returned. – Al ‘Ankabut (The Spider):57

(Found in the Noble Qur’an)

That sounds a bit more logical to me.  No one gets a “get out of death free pass”.  You cannot ascend directly to everlasting life in Heaven without passing death.  Life isn’t modeled after Monopoly.  Monopoly is loosely modeled off of life.  The idea of a person suffering an “untimely death” is ludicrous.  Seeing as though we don’t know when our expiration date will come to pass, it is impossible to precede it.  It would behoove us to stop wasting time groveling over stars we’ve never personally known, and to start preparing for our own terminations.

Without a doubt the death of someone should arouse some feelings.  It should remind you of the brevity of life.  It should incite gratitude in ones heart towards his Lord.  Here it is, you are alive, while others have had their souls snatched from them before they could prepare their final farewells.   Isn’t that reason enough to be grateful?

That’s enough rambling for me.  I’ve gone off on a tangent when this was only supposed to a brief update.  Oh well.  On a happier note I’ve started a new blog.  Whoopee!  Dirty Word Laundry is my new poetry, cool-kids only spot.  So If you’ve enjoyed any of my poems in the past please stop by my new poetry blog.  I’m not a seasoned poet, or even a good poet; I just like words.  So come hang out with me over there.  http://www.dirtywordlaundry.wordpress.com

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

