Your Personal Best

Photo by Keattikorn

Ihsan, otherwise known as “perfection or “excellence.  In terms of worship this is a lofty goal for the believer.  To worship Allah (SWT) as though He is right in front of you.  Of course the Muslim knows that indeed,  Allah is always present by means of his knowledge.   After pondering the Hadith of Jibril, it becomes clear that to obtain this religious perfection, one needs to have a solid foundation in all aspects faith and worship.

I can only imagine the sweetness.

It’s painfully ironic how we boast of being perfectionists in matters of the dunya.   As mothers or trustees of a household we beam when someone mentions how immaculate our homes are.  As students we find ourselves sacrificing warm beds and fluffy pillows so that we can, ‘blow our exams out the water.’  As working class citizens we’ll do whatever it takes to make it to the top, and bring home the big cheese.  Where is this sense of dedication and urgency in our religious affairs?

I shouldn’t speak.  Prioritizing islamically is something that I continue to struggle with on a daily basis.  I’m guilty of wanting the best of both worlds.   I want to have my dunya cake and eat it too.  But insha Allah I’m changing.

Now I  yearn to dip my fingers in the honey pot of true Iman.  In order to do so, I need to get this worldly monkey off my back.  I need to focus on my final destination and put the distractions of this life on the back burner.  Brothers and sisters the us become the strangers that our Prophet (SAW) spoke of; letting the dunya choke on our dust as we race towards the eternal abode of the Muhsinun.

As Salaamu Alaikum

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

