Ephemeral Beings

As Salaamu Alaikum. Honey let me tell you, I’ve got some heavy stuff on my mind tonight.  I mean the kind of thoughts that weigh down your steps when you walk, and burden your eyelids forcing you to retreat when you know you aren’t sleepy.  What is it you might ask that’s got me feeling some kind of way?  I’ll give you a hint… it affects us all.

You guessed it! Death.  Passing on. Expiration.  The end of the road.  Allah (SWT) says in the Qur’an:

كُلُّ نَفۡسٍ۬ ذَآٮِٕقَةُ ٱلۡمَوۡتِ‌ۖ ثُمَّ إِلَيۡنَا تُرۡجَعُونَ (٥٧)

“Everyone shall taste death. then unto Us you shall be returned.” (Al-‘Ankabut:57)

The word death itself is mentioned over 200 times in the Qur’an.  It’s quite clear that there will be no bypassing that stage of our life.  I know you probably think I’m terribly pessimistic.  I’m sorry but I’m only bringing up this topic as a reminder to myself, and Insha Allah  this will benefit you too.

You see I constantly find myself dwelling on the shortcomings of my life.  I’m forever re-evaluating  the significance of my achievements or the lack thereof.  I do this so much that I tend to get worked up.  I sometimes feel like a failure because I’ve “wasted time” and haven’t gotten as far ahead as I would have liked to by now.  The Kufar have a saying and that is “Life is short.”   They’re absolutely right.  As Muslims we should be fully aware of the brevity of life.  We should also know that our time here is pre-determined by Allah (SWT).  We have absolutely no say so about when we come or go.  Due to the supreme knowledge of our Lord this has already been decided for us.  So what’s the point of living,  you might ask?

I’ll tell you.  The common goal we should all share is to see the face of our Lord, to reach Jannah-Al-Firdaus wherein Insha Allah we’ll rest in eternal bliss and serenity.  Allah (azza wa jal)  reminds us of this goal when he says:

وَمَا هَـٰذِهِ ٱلۡحَيَوٰةُ ٱلدُّنۡيَآ إِلَّا لَهۡوٌ۬ وَلَعِبٌ۬‌ۚ وَإِنَّ ٱلدَّارَ ٱلۡأَخِرَةَ لَهِىَ ٱلۡحَيَوَانُ‌ۚ لَوۡ ڪَانُواْ يَعۡلَمُونَ (٦٤)

“And the life of this world is only an amusement and a play! Verily, the home of the Hereafter- that is life indeed (i.e. the eternal life that will never end), if they but knew.” (29:64)

That pretty much sums it up for me.  I know that I need to be patient upon my hardships and focus on worshipping Allah (SWT).  True success will not be determined by a degree, or a fancy ride, or by whether or not you’ve started a Fortune 5oo company.  No my friends, true success will be determined when we stand in front Allah the Almighty.  Then we’ll know if we’ve served our purpose in life. 

, , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

